Update From The Vermont Deaf, Hard of Hearing, and DeafBlind Advisory Council’s November Meeting

The Second Meeting of the Vermont Deaf, Hard of Hearing, and DeafBlind Advisory Council took place on November 12, 2015.

Members who attended were: Deb Charlea Baker, Missy Boothroyd, Keri Darlin, Ralph Gallo, Linda Hazard (Chair), Sharon Henry, Bill Hudson (Co-Chair), Susan Kimmerly, Mark Limoges, Cindy Moran, Elena Shapira, Stuart Soboleski, Judy Vreeland, Spenser Weppler and Amy Williamson.  Cory Brunner and Virginia Clark served as interpreters, and Patricia Thompson kept meeting minutes.

The Advisory Council discussed current services available for deaf, hard of hearing, and DeafBlind individuals through age 22, for adults, and for the elderly.  Members then agreed to establish sub-committee leadership to report on services, challenges, and opportunities for the following groups:

  • Birth to Age Three – Amy Williamson Chair
  • School Age – Stuart Soboleski Chair
  • Adult – Chair Elena Shapiro
  • Elderly – Chair Deb Charlea Baker

Over the course of the next several weeks, the sub-committee membership will be established, and they will prepare for a legislative report to be delivered in January.

Read the Advisory Council’s November Meeting Minutes

View Advisory Council Meeting Minutes in ASL from the Vermont Association for the Deaf.

Check back on the Nine East Network Blog for more updates about the Vermont Deaf, Hard of Hearing, and DeafBlind Advisory Council!